DIY Pea Meal Bacon Disaster!

Newly Pea Mealed Bacon

After 25 days of carefully watching over my brining pork loins, turning them every week and making sure the temperature was perfect, we pulled them out of the brine, dried them and rolled them in corn meal. They looked great! But of course the big test is how it tastes. This morning I cut a slice for each of our breakfasts, pan fried them and served them with eggs and toast. The verdict….inedible!

Ready for the Fry Pan

Somehow I screwed up the recipe is my guess. They were unbelievably salty. So salty that even a Swede wouldn’t eat them. So it is back to the drawing board. The recipe that I posted earlier in the month needs to be re-evaluated based on my results. At least I didn’t poison anyone.

If there is anyone out there who is making their own pea meal bacon perhaps they could give me some advice?

Oh well, back to the store to pick up more pork loin and my new shipment of pink salt came in so I am ready for another attempt once I recalculate. Just wish it didn’t take a month to see the results.

4 Responses

  1. You should have rolled them in pea meal instead of corn meal. Oh, and use less salt.

  2. Hi Elitist.
    Sorry to read about “disaster”, truly a disappointment for all the effort.

    Try This.
    .
    http://www.theingredientstore.com/joesplace/swap1.pl?noframes;read=4611

    Use the dry rub method, put the 2-3 lb loin piece in ziplock bag and put in fridge for 3 to 5 days max. Rinse, roll, slice and fry. As good as it gets,and equal to J.M. Schneiders, Kitchener gold.

    Used recipe and method for several years now and has never failed.

    Steve

Leave a Reply

